Grand Central Terminal

I hopped on a time capsule (a.k.a. the New York subway) late this afternoon, to Grand Central, to which I had commuted by train for many years from Connecticut (1984-94) while working as a securities analyst for a succession of banks in the city. In 1994 I met my current wife Marylee, and soon moved to New York with her. See this large.

This is the station's elegant main concourse. It was disfigured for many years by a giant Kodak Colorama display covering the windows to the rear; that and other blemishes were removed in a restoration during the 1990s.

After I took this blip I took the passageway towards 45th street (GCT is at 42nd St.), but the watch shop that I had often passed in the very early morning (my train got in about 6:40 a.m.) walking to Deutsche Bank on West 53rd St. had already closed. I'll go back one of these days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.