Captivating

By katish

Letting go can be difficult. It's a process. It can take a long time. Moving on is pretty cool though. This comes out of a minor epiphany I had this morning in a quiet time...I was thinking of people in my life, and thinking of how I missed them. And what I realized is "It's okay. That's what happens when you love people."

What a simple statement. But I think I'd never actually internalized it before. How strange is that? I don't know. It all clicked...like my entire life. Maybe I felt like missing someone was a weakness. I'm a wanderer, I love to move around and meet new people but I still carry all the people I've loved with me. Each is so unique...there's no one else like them, and when you know people that are that special, how can you not miss them? I miss my dad's hugs, and laughing with my family, and his smile, and dancing like fools with my girlfriends. It's so simple.

I can still be happy, and move on with my life, and miss people. It's life.

And all that time, I felt just fine
I held so many people in my suitcase heart
That I had to let the whole thing go
It was taken by the wind and snow
And I still didn't know that I was waiting
For a girl on a slow pony home.


-Slow Pony Home-The Weepies

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.