What did I see today...?

By DaveR

Fields of Gold

No, I didn't see Sting or Eva Cassidy, I got to see actual fields of gold today when I went out to the East of Cambridge for my cycling/rambling jaunt.

Having determined to get a good rest for today's mini-adventure I then managed to sleep in until 2pm and so it wasn't until about 4pm that I actually got out of the house and into the sun. It was glorious, the sun was starting to come down so everything was bathed in a yellow afterglow and it was like I had the whole world to myself.

Excluding the occasional plane from the airport, there were a couple buzzing the fields and I can only guess they were enjoying the atmosphere as much as I was.

My loop took me out of Cambridge along Newmarket Road (on the bike) as far as the Little Wilbraham public footpath (it looks like a drainage ditch, in fact that's Little Wilbraham River) which leads to Hawk Mill Farm - from there it was back on the bike and through Little Wilbraham, back up north to Newmarket Road and then home, just before the streetlights came on - just shy of 10 miles altogether and a very nice route.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.