Let There Be Light

By solli

Painterly Leaf

I really enjoyed my two hour meander through a local park - I loved shooting cattails swaying split open with their spores floating in the wind. Also found some leaves that were so decimated by hungry bugs that they resembled lace. I also shot a small dragonfly who favored a brown leaf, then watched as he he flew away and came back 'round to rest on my shoe. I considered blipping the dragonfly as a tribute to universal harmony, but I love the leaf photo for its painterly attributes.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The above sounds nice enough but the truth is that the Stanley Steemer people came to clean the carpets and I had to get out of the house. I'd spent two days moving knickknacks, furniture and arguing the rule of law with my teenager. When I got to the park, I left my purse in the car then worried whether I'd locked it. As I tried to shoot the cattails, my left foot slipped into the marsh. I had no camera bag or pockets but I did have two lenses and my car keys. When I sat on the ground to capture the dragonfly, I rapidly realized the ground was soaked and so was my bum. The dragonfly must have known all this because he whispered "'Don't worry, all will be alright."

The dragonfly here:

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.