Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Yellow butterfly

Today at the grove, I tried out a new decoy, this time half the size of Damien, with a 40mm wing span. I gave it a brown livery, to match the most common of the butterflies. I mounted it on the pole, as described yesterday, so that I could give it movement. For two hours I sat in front of it, but still nothing. One dragon landed about twelve inches away, on what was supposed to be my invisible pole, but never approached any closer. It was the same type of dragon that I blipped yesterday.

Still in need of a blip, I decided to walk the grove to find something. I spotted this small yellow butterfly working a bank of blooms that led towards me, so I sat on the ground and waited. I have tried snapping this species before, but like quite a few of the more common butterflies, namely the one that attacked Damien, it is very unapproachable. The plan worked and it followed the trail of blooms right upto me and I am happy to get this one out of the way.

The whole decoy thing is starting to get very frustrating. My feet are soaking in a bowl of cold water after over exposure to the suns rays. I have a decoy bee that is in the process of painting at the moment, it should be ready for tomorrow's attempt, assuming that my feet will allow me to leave the house. I plan an hour of decoy work followed by a backup search. There are so many insects here that having to look for a backup is of no concern.

I am also contemplating making a short video so that those of you who are interested, can have a look at what I am working with. I have not tried making such a video before and am not sure how the auto focus is going to behave with the subject, but I will have a go.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.