Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Green butterfly

Here we are at the start of a new month, all wondering what presents the blip monster is going to bring us. Well if today's offering is anything to go by then I am in for a treat, but we all know that it doesn't work like that.

This is the green butterfly that you saw a tiny glimpse of in the video, which gives you an idea of how difficult he is to get close to. This butterfly shows up most days and I always chase after it, to no avail. It spends no more that two seconds at each bloom and its wings never stop moving.

It made backup blip once, but even then I could not get closer than six feet away and had to push the pixel density to get anything close to a blip. I elected to wait for something better. It generally lives in the trees around the banks of the stream, along with many other stunning butterflies that have so far been inaccessible to me. I need to buy a pair of wellies. Occasionally he rests up on a leaf, to gather up some sun and this is the only opportunity for a photograph.

Back in the lab I was very disappointed not to have nailed the focus, but it was a very difficult crouching position and the light was very poor, with lots of tree cover overhead. I noticed that one of his wings have been chomped, on the reject blip the wings were complete. I'm sure I will get more opportunities sooner or later. I chose to blip it because this was way better than anything else that I had for the session.

Update - Tailed Jay (Graphium agamemnon), swallowtail family.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.