November's gift

Again I resume the long
lesson: how small a thing
can be pleasing, how little
in this hard world it takes
to satisfy the mind
and bring it to its rest.
Wendell Berry, Sabbaths

The small gray Tufted Titmouse is a bird well satisfied by peanuts. They seem an enormous treat, impossible to open, but are dispatched with ease and obvious pleasure. It is a small wonder to watch them, brave industrious souls , successfully battling the greedy jays, celebrating their rewards.

Many thanks for all the comments and favorites for our little witch. Many thought it must involve hard feelings, bites, scratches(she saves those for Max) and a lengthy photo session. Honestly, these shots are usually accomplished in no more than a half to a full dozen snaps. She's easier and more cooperative to dress and undress in headgear then the average toddler! I think she would have made a fine greeting card model, no photoshopping necessary. I may make a buck on her cuteness yet. Actually she is always a big seller when I make up my own greeting cards, this being number 1 ... perfect for birthdays. I have a version where I've cloned out my blip pin.

For the Record,
This day came in overcast with average fall temps for the first of November. Looks rather showery, but a warmer afternoon is promised.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.