Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

A Few Months Later.....

Wow! It really feels so good to be back here loading a blip. As some have noticed, I have been on quite the 'extended blip vacation' over the last couple months. It has been a way for me to seek more balance in my life as photography has very welcomely consumed so much more of my time.

I am honored, beyond honored to have been nominated by the blipfoto community again this year for my 'Surfin' & Shufflin' photograph. I can't tell you how much all of this support has meant to me. Last year's third place nomination truly gave me the confidence to seriously consider photography as a small business and this year, the nomination has only fueled that desire to continue striving towards a profession that brings me so much joy and fulfillment.

Today I want to show you the girl that made this 'Momentum Photograph' come to life due to her supremely gifted surfing abilities. This photograph is very special to both of us because it is a constant reminder of one of the best weekend vacations that we spent together with our families over the summer. The memory of hanging out in the ski boat, listening to music, laughing with our favorite people, and snapping action shots with our 50mm's.....a family/friend vacation that we will always hold dear to our hearts. This image just takes me back to that moment immediately. And for my friend, she awakes to the sight of her rocking that wave every single day now that it has been made into a canvas for her room.

It's just exciting. Blipfoto really has impacted my life beyond any of my wildest expectations. I have the makings of a photography business in the works, happy clients (portfolio building), and wisdom and support from my fellow photography friends that I could have never learned just from a class. I was given the amazing experience of working as a 3rd shooter/assistant in a couple of weddings and actually co-shot a wedding a couple of weekends ago with one of my closest friends (the surfer in this pic). So life in my photography world sped up in seconds and it has been a really cool ride.

I will never stop blipping. Blipping is still a part of my every day even though I am not posting as regularly as I had been for the last couple of years. I just needed to step back from the pressure that I was feeling about spending so much additional time in front of the computer. As amazing and peaceful and calming editing is for me, it is still time. And that is time that can not be taken away from my family. So for now, I will blip when something moves me. My focus remains on abstract art. How can I take something simple such as a landscape or an interesting building or portrait and make it edgy, interesting and emotional. I have so much growth to continue to make as a photographer. So much to learn. So many lenses to try. Equipment to upgrade and progressive editing tricks to learn but through all of this I don't ever want to lose the focus that is staring right at me when I look in the mirror.: I am me. I am a Mommy and wife first and then I am the photographer who gets to express herself creatively with each and every shoot. Balance. Balance and happiness and the act of living in the present. That is the focus and that is what I like to see when I look in the mirror. Photography has touched my soul and opened up new avenues that I would have never thought possible. Blipping helped pave my way.

Thank you to each of you....fellow blippers, my blip readers, my friends and my family.....thank you for your comments, compliments, enthusiasm, and thanks for your smiles when talking to me about my work because that kind of support really fuels me and it feels good to be acknowledged for something that I enjoy so much. I have almost reached my financial goal for my new camera and after a couple more shoots, I hope to be the proud new owner of a Canon 5 D mark II. I have shot with it and instantly fell in love with it. And I am fortunate to have found an amazing little camera shop with incredible lenses to rent inexpensively. My trusty little Nikon D60 is currently in the shop due to shutter failure so my dreams of a new camera body are growing stronger than ever.

I just thought that I would take a minute out of my day to catch up on my life over the last couple of months since I have not been as present here on blip. I have appreciated your comments so much and just wanted to let my fellow blippers know that things are still moving and shaking, I just needed to prioritize my technology time a little bit more. And it has been refreshing. But I will always be a blipper, even if I am not blipping every single day. My compliments to everyone who entered a photograph into Momentum and to the top ten finalists, I am proud to have a photograph in the same category as you all. There is an incredible amount of talent here in this community. Thank you again!

Ciao ciao..... (for now)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.