Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Big bee revisited

Lots of great comments yesterday on the snail. Quite unexpected really for such an apparently mundane subject, even got my first spotlight, LOL. But as we've come to discover on blip, every creature has beauty or intrigue, even the common house fly which features quite frequently.

Collected a lot of potential blips today and had a hard time choosing. Already my reject folder for November has twenty nine images in it and we are only three days into the month, safe to say that my blip enthusiasm is high at the moment, thanks to my benefactor.

Today's blip is actually a bee that I featured 19th October. I saw it out of the corner of my eye as it flew past. I immediately readied the camera but when I saw what it was, I relaxed. The bee plopped down onto a leaf and an amazing insect was revealed, the bee was transformed into a ball of fluff, totally unrecognizable from the in-flight bee that I previously blipped.

I dropped to my knees and did the stalker thing and managed to get up close and collected four images before she departed, of which this one was the best. I really must get to work on the knee pads, my knees took a fair hammering today. I chose to blip this bee, as it was the first time that I had seen this display and the other images of the day could all be collected again another day.

The number of blips that I am finding is increasing quite dramatically. This is not because I am spending any more time in the grove, in fact I am probably spending less time now than I was a few weeks ago. I am becoming more skilled at spotting the creatures and approaching them. I am definitely having a lot of fun, I just wish I had internet at home so that I could do more research, maybe next month.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.