Kendal Castle

Today's the day ....................... to see things differently

I'm forever taking pictures of Kendal Castle. You can see it from most places in the town because it's up on a hill (a drumlin actually if you're particular about that sort of thing!). The trouble is there's usually something in the way - a telegraph pole or a bit of roof.

Then today at work, I was up in what was the original gallery of the Meeting House. I was checking all my sticky pest traps to make sure that we didn't have any deathwatch beetles or webbing clothes moths. The windows are normally covered with blinds to stop the sunlight coming into the Exhibition Room - but one of them had been left open. And this is what I saw - a perfect place to get an uninterrupted view of the castle. It was there all the time. I just hadn't spotted it.

And tonight the castle would look very different because it's where they will light a big bonfire and let off lots of fireworks for everyone to see .....................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.