Midnight sun

It had been a strange day where my right hand index finger swelled up like a sausage, turned blue and became immobile.

Corin was at work all day.

When he came home, me and my cousin finally got ourselves organised for an evening of entertainment, on the fields in front of his house (between his house and the beach at Seaforth). Some had already got a bonny going so we went with the kids and set of some fireworks. Well away from houses and mostly quiet ones that occasionally squeaked but certainly didn't go "boom".

After an hour or so, and once our hands had lost all sensation (there were still fireworks remaining though) we headed back for pizza, crisps and coffee. And some wine for me.

This shot was taken later in the evening, around 11pm, when Corin and I wandered back out to go and clear away all of the remains of the fireworks and to leave the area tidy (responsible citizens). Corin hooked up with a couple of the local lads and they did a fine job of clearing the field, albeit in a manner that was not particularly safe - throwing everything onto the still burning bonfire. There was only one near miss as the remains of a decent sized firework shot off horizontal with a beautiful green light trail, towards the dunes and briefly with the boys in the way. For those of you who have heard Corin's distinctive giggle it was audible to all at that point.

I stood in the middle of the field, looking out towards the dunes, and beyond, and marvelled at the sky with a wonderful moon and super clear stars - to the North and West the light pollution was minimal - I will have to go over again and wander over the dunes to the beach - ideally under a moon like that - I have plans for a super shot!

The sandhills that have been encroaching for the past 30 years (that I can remember) towards the houses of my Aunt and Uncle, and in recent times, my cousin Rob's place, have been cleared back and so the field has been restored to the once grand cricket pitch that we played on as kids.

Be warned, Rob, I might be back in the next couple of weeks with camera, flask, warm clothes and I will be dragging you beachside for company and protection. Thanks for having us - it was a blast, quite literally.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.