Let There Be Light

By solli

Misty Morning Heron

View large

I dashed out early this morning to get a shot of the mist but hunger drove me to my favorite bakery for a powdered jelly donut and a loaf of seeded rye. Unfortunately, I'd forgotten it was Monday and bakeries are closed. But this tiny French shop sits just outside Echo Lake Park in Westfield and it's the last remaining bakery worth its salt so off I went.

Driving slowly through the park because of the local law enforcer parked near the gazebo, I was able to spot something hunkering on the shoreline. (I've been looking at all the blipfotos of blue herons recently because they are amazingly graceful and blue and they've made a deep impression upon my psyche.) I want a blue heron to call my own!

Well, even from across the lake he knew what I was after. I wasn't out of the car but for a blipsecond when the darn bugger took off before I was able to focus halfway.

No worries, though. Now I know where he lives.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.