Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

Sea Architecture

Red Sandstone Sea Arch at Auchmithie Bay.

Mrs L again decided to stay indoors, still not quite right after the migraine. I count myself exceedingly lucky never to have experienced one myself. Being a caring husband I thought it was for the best that she should have peace and quiet for her recuperation so I headed off to Auchmithie to try and see a Firecrest. It had been there for a couple of days but as there was thick fog in Perth and the bird hadn't been reported today, hopes were not high.

At least on arrival the fog had lifted, but the three birders already on site hadn't seen the bird. I spent quarter of an hour with them to no avail and headed off to explore the old harbour and pebble beach. Found a Rock Pipit and a pair of Stonechats, took today's photo of the sea arch and had a pleasant wander underneath the red sandstone cliffs. Returning to the Firecrest site only one birder remained, but the other two had seen the bird and he himself had had a fleeting glimpse.

The knowledge that the bird is actually there makes the investment of time scanning conifers and leylandii easier and within quarter of an hour I'd found it. Good views, but no pictures, then five minutes later good views and as you can see from RCB's blip of the Firecrest, reasonable pictures.

We watched the bird on and off for the next fifteen minutes, then as we were leaving I had an interesting chat with RCB. I knew we'd got reasonable pictures and I knew we could stay and maybe get better, but we were leaving. So the conclusion is it's the seeing and watching the bird that's important not the pictures, so when I was whining about people with better cameras and better lenses..... Nah, I'd still like a better camera and better lens!

Back in Perth the fog had stayed all day, so I was happy that I'd had a sunny day out at the seaside, but sad that these two rest days for Mrs L don't seem to have shaken of the last of the migraine symptoms. Fingers crossed that she'll be all mended tomorrow.

Sorry, drifted into backblips again:

Sunset over Bowmore Distillery
Heading Home
Sunset over Tay Bridge

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.