While on my runs

By waipushrink

Wind in the palm frond

Today I had to head out on my daily run earlier than I have done recently, as I had to be at the Auckland Convention Centre before 0800 because I was chairing the first plenary session at a conference. Took the obligatory photo or three.

Chairing duties over, a mad rush to the office to see a man whose appointment could not be changed as he needs express Justice Department permission to leave home. Then reports and letters before getting the boys and heading home.

This week the challenge topic is wind. I thought I could take a picture of the one of the palm fronds whipping about in the wind. Out on the deck to do so, and I heard and then saw the Police helicopter going around and around, and then the Police car sirens heading into the area. Looking for someone or something.

This allowed me to focus on the helicopter, and include the frond to show the wind. Of ten pictures this was the one that best shows the movement induced by the wind. As I framed it up the wind suddenly lifted the frond from below the helicopter to above it.

Young L approves of this choice of picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.