a town called E.

By Eej

Gales of November



When the Beloved showed up at work I thought he came to pick me up early - but he came to tell me we lost power and he was bored. I had been locked away from the outside world and I had no idea the weather was so bad. So, after work we drove to South Haven, my go-to place in case of high winds :)
What I hadn't taken into consideration was the rain.
And really, I hadn't thought about the combination of high winds and rain at all. With added sand. And the only thoughts I had given the waves was their photographability.

Fact is, all that makes for poor visibility.
Fact is, we got soaking wet.
And on top of all the wetness came the sand.
By the time I got back into the car my wet clothes were covered in an impressive layer of sand.

"Totally worth it", I said, as I hoisted up my top-heavy jeans and shook my head like a wet dog.
All the way home I smiled - my feet wrinkling up in my drippy sneakers and sopping socks.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.