dailykeith

By dailykeith

It's Christmas time

It's the final third of the year, so it must be Christmas.

Yes, I know I moan about this regularly, but this must surely be the worst year ever for jumping the gun with festive preparations.

I remember my wife telling me about seeing crackers going on sale in August, there were Christmas adverts and promotions aplenty in September and the Gloucester Quays Christmas lights were switched on in October. As you can see from the picture, Bristol city centre has now been taken over by a Christmas market. We haven't even had Remembrance Sunday yet.

I'm just staggered so many people go along with all of this.

I'm no killjoy. I used to love Christmas and played a full part. But this months-long suffocating Christmas obsession is destroying the festival for me. And as for the true message of Christmas? Don't get me started on that...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.