El Camino

By AndrewForbes

Twisted wood


Today is overcast and grey; the usual clear autumn light of this part of the Mediterranean has escaped us. We're staying indoors, with the papers, and are about to sit down to some comfort food!
So I've had to look close to hand for inspiration for today's blip. I chose this twisted piece of pine wood. I picked it up on a hike last autumn, when we climbed to the summit of La Torrecilla, (1919m) the highest peak in the Sierra de las Nieves Natural Park. (My Journal profile pic is of me half way up)
It's a three and half hour hike, but the views are stunning, across a huge portion of Andalucía. This fragment of branch, from a tree destroyed by fire years ago, is actually a glorious honey colour, but I thought with such a grey day I'd experiment with a monochrome shot today.
Probably naughty to pick up things from the countryside, but I love this piece of old wood. It is so sculptural and rich in texture. It sits on a glass shelf in the living room and is a daily reminder of a very happy time in the countryside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.