Squeeeeze....

This is a victorian hand printing press, from the stores... I spied it yesterday whilst I was taking the gang around but didn't get chance to take any shots...

I don't know much about this particular one but it reminds me of the one I used at college... I know, you wouldn't have thought I was old enough... Rest assured my witchy powers only stretch to face paint and I wasn't attending college at the point this was made... however as the victorians invented new technologies they tended to over engineer their machinery which means it really does last forever. So when I was studying printing during my art foundation course this was the best item for getting a really smooth dense linocut print. It's operated by a large handle that you pull round, which lowers the top plate squeezing the paper and inked block beneath it... The trick is to do it smoothly which is quite difficult as its so heavy... I'd love to have a go now as I always used to struggle at college due to being skinny and weedy, but I reckon the boxing and the eating would stand me in better stead nowadays : )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.