Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Dawn Chorus

I am learning so much by being up early to try and blip the sunrise. This morning the tide was falling and I was keen to try and get some reflective blips before the swollen river estuary emptied back into the sea.

At the mouth of the river on the newly exposed beach, a couple of hundred birds had gathered to feed. I assumed they were just sea gulls, which are always on the beach. However, as I listened I could hear a whole range of bird songs. The Gulls, Oyster Catchers and Curlews were easy to recognise, but there were others I couldn't identify. I blipped a Heron who had been feeding not far from me as it flew down the river and joined the other birds on the shore. Then as I was blipping this scene I could hear and see three ducks flying towards me. Unfortunately they spotted me and banked sharply to the right and evaded the camera before I could get a decent shot.

I really didn't appreciate the range of birds that fed on the shore in early morning. If you view in large you will just see some of them where the river meets the sea.

As I type the clouds are gathering and becoming more threatening. To avoid the rain that is forecast for later, I better head off for my run to the beach and see if I can identify some more of the birds I heard earlier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.