Bridge Unveiled

The good intentions of last evening about putting the bikes on the back of the car and going for a cycle run today evaporated this morning.
The trouble was that his Lordship suggested we read the Sunday papers first and that is fatal to my get up and go. Once I'd lolled about relaxing, I'd lost the urge to exert myself, as had he.

Instead we drove to North Queensferry to a 'Blether by the Bridge' café and enjoyed a coffee in the manner of most married people: in quiet contemplation of the cake and the view, without much blether at all.
But we had a stroll about afterwards, noticing a few tripods and big cameras. There was even a cyclist taking a photo of his bike , which prompted me to ask if he were on Blipfoto and was about to raise it above his head in a crank shot. He looked at me as though I were a mad woman.

The Forth rail bridge towers over the village and now looks decidedly graceful and slender since the painting has finished and the nasty white polythene sheeting has disappeared. I can't remember seeing it like this for decades.

Now home, I've just noticed that the bulbs I planted last winter are beginning to show through the ground. They are being fooled by the weather, as have the shopkeepers with their displays of sledges, snow shovels and windscreen de-icing canisters. Perhaps the last laugh will be theirs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.