Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

My Whiteboard

Well, it was all rather embarrassing really. I'd taught my grammar lesson, and was just starting to wipe the whiteboard when my tutor told me to stop! Apparently she, er, thought it was worth making lots of other people look at it to see how a whiteboard should be used during a grammar lesson.

Another tutor has requested I send her a photo of it! So I took one, as did rather a lot of my colleagues, using their phones. I told my tutor that maybe I'd take the photo to my tattooist and get it tattoed on my bum!!!

(Which I won't really, partly because I haven't yet figured out how I'd sit down while it was healing, and partly because if I DO get a tattoo on my bum, it'll be of a set of timpani!!!)

So, today was another of those busy ones! We left the house early as usual, and I eschewed the pleasure of purchasing myself something to eat en route to college in order to get to reprographics and get my handouts and overheads made.

Reprographics was shut, so I went to the cafeteria for a strawberry milkshake and a jam croissant instead.

Fortunately I wasn't teaching first, so I was able to sneak out of the lesson and get handouts for my grammar lesson during the first bit of the session. It seemed to go pretty well in the end, which was good.

I hung around in college for a bit as my tutor had kindly agreed to give me my "progress tutorial" today so I don't have to go into college on Monday, which is good. She started off by asking me if I was "enjoying" the course, which flummoxed me. "Enjoyment" to me is associated with glasses of wine, bowls of pudding and custard, playing the viola, watching rodents, getting my back rubbed, and solving mathematics problems - it has precious little to do with English teaching courses at college!!!

After college I pootled round in town for a bit, then went for my eye test. Apparently my long-distance prescription has changed since last time I had my eyes tested, and my near-distance is slightly different from the one that Scharwenka & I guessed, although pretty close.

Then I headed back to Scharwenka's house, picked up the car, and drove round to the pet store to check on the progress of a lone Roborovski hamster, who I'd seen about a week ago in the rehoming section and rather fallen in love with. He was still there, labelled as "Charlie" the "Robbie" hamster, sitting all on his own in a tiny place with not much to do.

I asked the girl about him, discovered he was a "leftover" from a litter, and had now been on his own rather a long time. I resolved to talk to the Wonderspouse.

Then I came home, getting back in the dark, so NOT blipping the rather nice Pudsey bear that our urban knitters had put up for Children in Need day. However, I did still giggle as I drove past it after hearing Ricky Gervase say, on the One Show, re: Pudsey Bear "there's probably a bloke in there wanted to do Chekov at the National"!!!

Then I thought I'd update my virus protection on the netbook. Big mistake. The whole thing froze up and crashed half way through. Total conk out. After numerous attempts to get it going again, I gave up and disconnected the battery, then started up, only to find the wi-fi connection was no longer, and couldn't be persuaded to restart.

There followed a frustrating hour or so of restarts, checking the bios even, and attempting to get the wi-fi back. No go. I got to that " I want my mummy" stage (although my mother would be almost the last person I'd call in a computer emergency - I know her two bits of advice would be "forget about it and go for a walk or clean the house" or "phone your dad").

Fortunately, the phone rang, and the Wonderspouse came home and made pasta and poured me wine, so I ignored the computer situation and went in the bath to sleep, then went to bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.