Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Lizard

Not much to choose from today at the grove. A few shots of an orange darter butterfly, a pair of bonking hoppers and the lizard, an easy choice, although I was tempted to throw the hoppers up just for a laugh.

I spotted this lizard from about ten feet away, doing its best to capture some of the hidden sun's rays. I nearly didn't bother with it, as It had obviously seen me. I advanced a couple of small steps and the lizard stayed, so I decided to have a go. I maneuvered to the full belly squirm and advanced on my elbows, collecting shots as I went. I actually approached to within two feet before the lizard beat a retreat.

My second session was scuppered by an attack of tunnel vision. As usual this is preceded by jagged colored prism floaters in my eye, followed by the peripheral closing in, to the extent that I can only see one letter at a time on the computer screen. I get this very occasionally when I am under stress and it is usually accompanied by a Menieres attack, but the menieres seems to have subsided now and I haven't had an attack for about four years now. The solution to the tunnel vision is just to lie down for a couple of hours.

I was awoken by the beating of heavy rain on the windows, so the second session was destined not to happen. Still, I was very happy with the lizard shot and the mozzies missed their daily snack too, as I didn't pick up a single bite today.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.