The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

@Bellowhead - Caught In A Moment Of Applause

Sometimes you have to come right out of your comfort zone.

I did so with this gig.

Those of you who know me, I have been a metal head for quite a long time. So it took some persuading from my brother to convince me to go and see a folk band!

Now I have no preconceived ideas about any form of music. And my music taste is completely eclectic. It's just my first love is loud and head nodding stuff!

So off we all went to the Cardiff Coal Exchange. It was my first visit there too.

Wow! What a venue. Very impressive. No idea what the capacity is, but it was rammed last night.

Now I have seen Bellowhead on Jools Holland before now, and I quite liked them. I quite like their new album, but folk isn't really my cup of tea. I had heard great things about the band from twitter and friends. I have also heard them described as one of Britain's best live acts at the moment. Well after last night it would be hard to argue with that! I must admit I was completely blown away!

They hit the stage with Yarmouth Town, which made me smile, as it was the only song of theirs I actually knew! What followed was an hour and half or so of basically great fun! It was brilliant to see the band having so much fun on stage. I turned to Dawn after two songs and said, they have the crowd in the palms of their hands already. That is quite some talent to do that!

The front man, Jon Boden, has a fantastic stage presence, but then the band as an 11 pieced entity have a huge stage presence. You couldn't help get caught up in the enthusiasm that was being projected, and even with my bad back, I couldn't help bouncing along to the odd track or two.

The musicianship on show was hugely impressive. I have no idea how many different instruments came and went during the gig. I never got bored, it never felt that it was getting a bit same-ey (my main fear before going), and all too soon it was over.

Highlights for me turned out to be a two piece tune they played, no idea what it was called, and a couple of tracks off the new album, especially Little Sally Racket, that endeared itself to my thrash metal head! ;o)

I'm glad we went, and I suspect next time around, as their reputation spreads it might not be as easy to get a ticket!

I have stuck a number of photos up from the gig on Flickr.

Bellowhead - Live At The Cardiff Coal Exchange - Flickr Set

As a final aside, after the gig, we got chatting to a soldier who was home after a tour of duty. He apologised to us about his mates behaviour, who was a bit pissed, but not really a nuisance to be honest, but it was incredibly good of him to take time out and say sorry in case he had gotten on our nerves. We noticed he was keeping him in check.

Sir, you were a credit to your profession!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.