earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

The Willow Shoals

I have not felt as tired as I was last night for a very long time. I cooked dinner for myself and the boys, blobbed out to watch Junior Apprentice (and what an impressive - if not all totally likeable - bunch of young people they are), and promptly collapsed into bed. I do feel much better now for having had a good night's sleep and today has certainly been a calmer and more focused day.

I just took a few minutes before getting the train to pop down to the river. I was originally dreading these foggy mornings of poor light, but I'm growing to love them now I properly appreciate their potential!

I haven't yet got around to mentioning that No.2 son (Roam) won the Under 18s Shield at the Ben Rhydding Cricket Club awards, for his contributions both on and off the pitch. It's a prestigious award and he's certainly earned it. His brother (Forrest) won the same award two years ago. I think I am actually most proud of the off the field element. Both of them have completely embraced the club ethic, in a way that I have never done. I think I've missed out on a lot. It's wonderful to see them working as part of a team and taking enormous satisfaction from the successes of the club as a whole. I think it is fair to say that they have a been a significant part of that success.

There is a real buzz in the air at the moment, and at the dinner there was a fantastic family atmosphere. This is not something you can really set out to create. It just happens spontaneously when you get the right mix of people together. The key to it has been the introduction and nurturing of young players. The club was pretty much on its knees a few years ago, with the first team finishing bottom of the third division of the league and having to apply for re-election. To have now gained promotion to the top division in a very high standard league is a massive deal. There is a real feeling of the whole being more than the sum of its parts.

And that's exactly what I want to achieve at work. I've never really been a team player but I know I need to become much more of one now. I guess I've been a little possessive about my software, wanting to keep control of it all. But those days are over. We've got a great mix of people here in the office. The secret now is to grow this team without losing the buzz and family atmosphere that we currently enjoy. This is a big challenge for me but, as I've alluded to before, I'm ready for it. The weekend of celebration at the cricket club has actually been quite inspirational.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.