Blackberry Way

By bridgeman

There's always something happening at the zoo

Number 10 in my series of vintage British Rail posters currently on display due to some sort of refurbishment work at Richmond Station. See number nine here.

This one is very nostalgic for me. Assuming this like the other posters is around 1984 or 1985, then I was actually working there when this poster was last on display. I did time in the ticket desk at the front, and also in the gift shops, just as a summer job between term time at university. Of course, it wasn't "Chessington World of Adventures" then - just Chessington Zoo as per this poster. My favourite animals were the gibbons - you could hear them calling and screaming when I arrived for work in the morning. By the time the vistors arrived, they were generally asleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.