While on my runs

By waipushrink

Crescent at dawn

Flew to Wellington this morning for a full day meeting. Necessitated an earlier than usual run, or missing a day, or having a run on return in the evening. Psychologically, I find it easier to have a run than not have a run. After a long meeting and then a dash of Hawkes Bay red in the Koru lounge before heading home, a run is low on my list of things to do. So....

A pre dawn run it was. Ten to fifteen minutes before I took this shot, the sun had yet to emerge above the horizon and the moon was rather brighter in the sky. Didn't like the extra aspects of those pictures, even if the moon was bigger and brighter.

I took this picture almost immediately before dawn, from Newton Road looking south east over the buildings around Upper Queen Street and Symonds Street. What really appeals to me is the man made lights in contrast to the sky affected by the light of the sun about to rise, and higher in the sky the moon reflecting the light of the sun. Human efforts at creating light are definitely on the puny side.

I was able to feel more relaxed at the meeting today as I resigned as Chair a while ago; the new chair has more time and energy for the task and I could concentrate more on content than process.

One aspect which was not relaxing, was that Wellington put on some especially foul weather for us. Strong gusty winds, low cloud and lots of rain. Flights cancelled, and more delayed; today the comfort of the Koru Lounge was worth the sub. Pleasant company and then home again. Only one more Wellington meeting this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.