Let There Be Light

By solli

Half Dome

I bought a new production Pontiac two seater convertible and decided it was high time I drove cross country to see the sights. My summer trip was celebratory in that it coincided with the 50th Anniverary of America's Interstate Highway System (1956-2006) and my Jubilee year plus two. I was a "Go West Young Woman" on her maiden voyage to meet the Pacific Coast and all that my fore-fathers had encountered before me. O Glorious Freedom! I was also the first person in history to drive the 2006 Pontiac Solstice across America and back.

My 8 year old son came along for the biggest social study lesson of his life. It took us four weeks but we saw America's landmarks and National Parks, drove Route 66 from California to Illinois and met fabulous people all along the way. All in all, we traveled 9,000 miles through 22 states on that trip.

We designed to spend a few days exploring Yosemite National Park. I wanted to pay tribute to Ansel Adams and see Half Dome up close and very personal. There are no words to describe the awesome majesty of Half Dome. It is a magnificent study in the changing light on silver granite and my car looked like a 1:18 scale toy in front of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.