Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

Puffballs

The spaniel and I explored a new corner of the common today. Now that the bracken has died down more of the badger trails can be seen and followed. This one went into an area of dense scrubby woodland, eventually coming out in a small clearing where I counted over two hundred puffballs in various stages of maturity.

This year I've produced a 2012 calendar of local wildflowers which the Commons Society will sell to help our fund raising. I missed the launch at our November meeting because of my trip to Paris but apparently almost 120 copies have been sold already so a further print run may be required (we only had 150 made). I got home this morning to find that my personal copies had just been delivered, my first view of the final product. Although I think a couple of the images are quite weak (the selction - 13 from 30 images provided - was made by a committee!) the overall product is of a better quality than the first attempt last year. I've already been asked to produce one for 2013. Although I'd like to make the theme fungi, I suspect that would be a minority interest so I'm playing safe and going for trees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.