Christmas in the Park

Although I have watched Christmas in the Park on TV year after year, today was the first live performance I have attended - it was awesome!!

I got there early with my two friends R and M and had a 'Front of House' pass as Daughter E was in the performance. We made ourselves at home with our rugs, chairs and endless amount of food - we were here for the atmosphere and a night of music and dance and we were not disappointed.

Daughter E's dance group 'Zesty' were Santa's helpers and they danced along with many others in the second part of the programme - it was lots of fun.

Photography was challenging throughout the night with lots of movement, smoke screen and of course the ever changing lights. I have never tackled such a varied type of photography all at once, especially with the audience walking round as well.

We have Daughter E's dance group Zesty - a group portrait and Daughter E with her friend V with Santa. The stunning Jackie Clark with her most amazing 'Kiwiana' dress, which just blew me away. Notice the Kowhai flowers on the shoulders followed by the Waka and Pohutukawa flower. A whole map of New Zealand with main centres named. This is a dress I would love to see at an exhibition, so detailed front and back, Jackie's singing was on top form, she certainly gives it all shes got. And I was quite chuffed with the shot of Stan Walker appearing from the smoke screen.

There was a huge Christmas tree which was lit and fireworks which completed the evening but I couldn't include them all - just four special photos for different reasons of this free outdoor concert with proceeds going to NZ Surf Lifesaving.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.