Harakeke Flower

Botanical name: Phormium tenax
Maori name: Harakeke

The Harakeke flowers are found on tall spikes, some 3.5m, branching with clusters of upturned trumpet-shaped red flowers, this is a close shot. It is widespread in coastal areas, lowland to montane forests, open areas, streamsides in all three islands of New Zealand. A great food source for our native birds and bees.

Not sure where my day has gone, its been so terriably hot reaching 26C and has now turned very gusty. We've been out for most of the day and stopped by an wetlands area to get this shot. Daughter E has a defensive drivers course tonight while Hubby and I relax over a bbq tea and Daughter A, in Wellington will be shifting house tomorrow - shes very excited.

Many thanks for taking a look at my last couple of shots, I have enjoyed reading your words and hope to catch up with your journals over the next couple of days - I seemed to have gotton behind again. With our cabbagetrees in full bloom I'm finding my eyes and nose are constantly running and I'm feeling very heady which is quite tiring by the evening.

Have a great week everyone :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.