Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

Clouded arc

I love getting deep into the woods early in the morning. Well away from the paths and with the sun coming up on the horizon I can imagine that no-one has been this way for tens of years. And here lie the magical giant fairy rings. I know of several but this is the largest. I measured its diameter at just over 30 meters. I assume that means its been around for a very long time. Its so big I can't work out how to photograph the entirety. I contemplated climbing one of the trees on the inside of the ring but even that wouldn't work, so here is one small arc swinging around two tree trunks and heading out of shot top right. Most fungi don't occur in rings, the clouded agaric is one that certainly does.

PS No elves appeared in any of my photographs - I guess they were always behind me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.