The Wren

By TheWren

Time for the Ark?

The torrential rain began late yesterday evening and continued throughout the night, and it was still raining when I awoke. I have a burn running the length of my garden and I could see how high it had become so was anxious to check that it hadn't encroached into the garden at all. So clad in my dressing gown, waterproof coat and clogs I ventured out immediately to see what the score was. The burn was now a full flowing, muddy river as high as I have seen it but it still about three inches from breaking its banks into my garden. I then checked the rain gauge which had produced an impressive 15mm the other morning. Well, this morning, as you can see, it was reading about 44mm.

Following breakfast I took the dogs out and as I was clad from top to toe in full waterproof gear it was not the best conditions for taking blips and keeping both camera and hands dry! On my return I took a couple of shots of the dogs looking completely drookit but decided that for my memory of today this was the best blip. Furthermore, by the time I returned a further 11mm had fallen so it was well I had emptied the gauge earlier as it would have been near the top otherwise. I just hope the rain stops before my burn/river bursts its banks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.