Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

Living Dangerously #2

A week after my Living Dangerously blip, once again dear readers I can report yet another close call.

Headed down to Cudmore Grove again on Mersea island hoping to see Snow Bunting and Jack Snipe. The Snow Bunting were reported at East Mersea Point and that's where I headed first. At 10:30 the tide was a bit high and the normal route onto the point was under water, but there was a side track that let you get on dry footed.

Got excellent views initially of Turnstone and Sanderling then noticed a few browny backed birds that when they flew were undoubtedly the Snow Buntings. Closed in on where they landed and got some good shots as can be seen from RCB's blip.. So after a pleasant hour on the point headed back to Cudmore Grove to seek out the Jack Snipe.

Oh, Oh!! My way back to the sea wall was well and truly blocked by the tide. Okay, no worries I'm sure the point stays above water. I gave Mrs L a call to find out when high tide was 11:38 she says - one minute ago - nothing for it than to wait it out then. Quarter of an hour later and the point where I'd phoned Mrs L from was now well under water, so much for the high tide having passed. The above photo of my route back to the sea wall was taken at 12:01. I took another shot at 12:37 from the top of those steps with slightly damp feet. Can't really complain too much though - I didn't drown and I spent my time in the company of Snow Buntings, Turnstone, Sanderling, Dunlin, Grey Plover and Bar-tailed Godwits - an exceedingly pleasant experience.

Have a read at the local ranger at Cudmore Grove's blog for the day - interesting!

Unfortunately though didn't find any Jack Snipe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.