Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

Daft or what?

Mrs L's still a bit off colour so just me and RCB for an early start to get to Titterstone Clee Hill for the Desert Wheatear. When I arrived there were a few birders wandering around but no sight of the bird. So I had a wander too and within five minutes found the bird. Took a few shots and attracted the attention of the others. The bird performed nicely for us as can be seen from RCB's blip.. After only a quarter of an hour I decided to move on, I had other plans for the day. Today's photo is of the assembled watchers as I was leaving.

Having journeyed west I thought I might as well head due south for the Sharp-tailed Sandpiper and Long-billed Dowitchers that have been hanging out at Chew Valley Lake. I'd already rejected a trip to Chew Valley last weekend as these birds are notoriously very distant, so not exactly a great bird watching experience, but being "so close" it seemed worth it for a couple of ticks.

Well I got my view of the Sharp-tailed Sandpiper, or at least I saw half a mile away a bird that was a wee bit different from the Dunlin it was hanging around with and those that seemed to know assured me it was the Sharp-tail. Unfortunately the Long-billed Dowitchers had decided to go elsewhere for the day.

Okay, as I'd thought, not a great bird watching experience. Titterstone Clee Hill had been good and if I wasn't "driven" by collecting another tick then it'd be a great place to spend the day - looking forward to finishing off this year list and getting back to proper bird watching.

Back home the car's trip computer registered 423 miles and 9 hours 39 minutes driving - Daft or what?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.