without becoming pictures

By lani

It occurs to me...

...that I've reached my second 100th Blipday mark. I joined the site 4 years ago, at a particularly dry/low period of my life: working an understimulating job in a small town, fewer friends than I wanted, and looking for a job in a place I loved, faith waning and tired of waiting. I loved photography and wanted to express more of the creativity bottled inside me and thought this would be a great way to not only see more in my small days, but to be more creative more often.

It worked for a nice little while and then my interest waned for some reason. I've blipped here and there over the years, a week or even a month at a time and then sparsely if at all. I've always checked in, viewed the last couple of months of my friends/subscribes when I could, and marveled at the amazing things you shoot so frequently. Creativity, cleverness, passion-exactly what I was looking for.

As it turns out, my life these days is too similar for my liking, to those days during that summer 4 years ago. I feel so insufferably close to what I'm looking for and still, I'm having trouble reaching it. I'm still taking photos-I've been trying to find a home for them for ages. I've tried online albums, personal archives, a photo blog, etc, but nothing's ever stuck. I've been uploading blips again, still sporadically, but I've been thinking of returning, pushing myself to make an actual journal of this site that's been so friendly every time I've come back.

I logged in this morning to see what was new and realized that my next entry would be my 100th. I had been on the fence as to whether I'd be able to take an interesting photo each day if my inspiration is so often tied to these other factors I'm trying to improve, but I have a better life this time, a better sense for what I want, an amazing kid beside me, and I am so much closer to where it is I belong.

It seems like with 100 being the first big Blipday, it would make a nice milestone for a new start.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.