Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Butterfly

As promised, I have posted three back blips, starting here, of the Malaysian trip. The blips are very weak but it is all about the story in this case.

I did two sessions at the grove today, giving the early morning a go to see if anything has changed. The first session was very slow but I did collect a few shots. Over all I collected nine different subjects for thirteen images to pick from. These included: a bug, green collared hopper, spider, darter butterfly, lizard, cricket, large green hopper and a caterpillar but the butterfly choice was very easy with the lizard a reasonable second place.

They were all good shots, but I did just miss out on a good feeding dragonfly shot. I got up real close when a twig snapped under my knee and that was the end of that. The blipped shot was good in that the subject was perfectly formed even if its livery was rather scratched. The money shot for this particular butterfly would have been a complete side view, as it presents a good simulation of a dried leaf, but she just would not oblige.

Blip has definitely given me more respect for the creatures out there and I am not so quick with the spray as I used to be. About a week ago I caught sight of a mouse. I had the advantage as it had not spotted me. The camera was well out of reach so I just let it go.

When I arrived home from the KL trip, I decided to cook up a noodle omelet, only to discover that every one of my stash of noodle packets had been chewed into by the rodent. My benevolence had not served me well.

After posting yesterdays blip, I decided to do the laundry. I piled everything into the machine including some T-shirts that had been on the shelf for some time. I filled the machine with water and powder and threw the switch. Nada, totally dead. I opened the back panel and tugged at a few cables. The cable loom to the control panel just came away in my hand. I opened up the control panel and all the wires had been chewed away and a nest made of the copper strands. Repair is going to be difficult as I cannot just reconnect, as whole lengths of wire have been chewed away.

All traces of benevolence has duly evaporated. Next time I see the little shit I am going to do a Percy from 'the Green Mile' and rip it's diseased head off.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.