A female Bullfinch

I saw lots of Goldfinches and a male Bullfinch amongst the many tits at the feeder this morning. I had a quick coffee and went to buy a few goodies from Waitrose, which is our nearest shop of any sort. On my return, no later than 10.30am I headed to get the shot I have been trying for for several days and was wholly unsuccessful.

They either knew I was there, although the Tits didn't seem to care, or they had finished their breakfast. I stayed for nearly an hour, and did see a Nuthatch, a Blackbird, Blackcap and a couple of shy fleeting visitors, which I couldn't identify. In the sky were two buzzards flying up high, several pigeons and a few seagulls.

This female Bullfinch was rather shy too and hesitated whilst eyeing up the bird feeder's perches. Eventually it hopped up, grabbed some seeds and headed off, not to be seen again. The best thing was the sun came out for a few minutes, which has added some colour to the scene. I just wish I could have shot the male and female Bullfinch next to the charm of Goldfinches, which were flying about and singing beautifully in the distance, but not appearing for me today. Better luck later?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.