The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Kent estuary to Kentmere Pike

I was expecting the worst of the weather this morning. When I was getting up in the dark it was hailing outside, but by the time I left the house the sky had cleared and the early morning sun was illuminating the fells and mountains. Here we are looking north from Sandside into the south-eastern fells of the Lake District, now with a substantial cover of snow compared to yesterday's dusting. The water of the estuary is reflecting the white of the mountains.

On the mudbanks of the western shore of the estuary a couple of cormorants are hauled out, drying their wings. A scatter of gulls fringe the water's edge. The still waters were about to be disturbed by the incoming tide. I could hear the bore advancing up the estuary as I stopped on the promenade half a mile back at Storth, mudbanks along the channels were audibly collapsing into the advancing waters, and the gulls were flying about agitated.

I tarried on my way to work, it was all simply too lovely after yesterday's dire weather not to soak it up. As a result I was late arriving in the office. I had to make up for it at the end of the day though, as we were late leaving a meeting in Penrith and drove to Kendal then home in driving sleet and rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.