Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Common tiger

Hit the plantation early today, full of enthusiasm and was not disappointed. Perhaps not the choice of insects that the grove had, but enough dragons and butterflies for me to shoot for a week or two. Plenty of lizards showed themselves today, but still learning where to look.

A new location is a new learning process, for example, tomorrow I will know how to avoid the mud pit, which swallowed my flip-flop for which I had to go elbow deep to retrieve. I explored a series of manageable steps down to the stream, but there wasn't much going on down there apart from one damsel fly which unfortunately eluded me. A possible wading opportunity to find more blipping opportunities, but perhaps not a brilliant idea, looking at the waste pipes from the houses on the opposite bank.

I picked up shots of two types of dragon and three butterfly types in varying poses. Although not a new butterfly (11th Nov), I chose today's blip for its, well I don't know, I just liked it. All the butterflies that I shot today were good specimens, with no missing chunks which was a rarity at the grove.

A few ladies were working the plantation today, who were all eager to see what the big white fella was doing and generally have a laugh and a giggle, probably at my expense, but who cares, like the butterflies, they brightened up my day and hopefully I theirs. Some days life is just good.

Common tiger - Danaus genutia

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.