Today's Special

By Connections

Just Drop Me Off Here, Please

I don't know how I've managed to do 68 blips without mentioning this wonderful juxtaposition of Chocolate Necessities and Pure Bliss Desserts downtown.

Full disclosure: Chocolate Necessities was one of the first places we discovered when we moved here in January 2002. Back then, the retail shop was several miles north of downtown, housed in the same building where the chocolates were made. That didn't stop us -- we quickly got on a first-name basis with the owner, bought fleece vests with the Chocolate Necessities logo, and made every possible excuse to stop in whenever possible, eager to have more of the delicious chocolate. That small shop just celebrated its 25th anniversary.

In 2010, a second shop opened in downtown Bellingham, offering both the same wonderful chocolate and an extensive selection of gelato -- one of our grandchildren's favorite treats when they visit. My favorite treat, a small cup of their Italian sipping chocolate, described as a "warm liquid truffle," takes care of my chocolate cravings for quite some time. I could continue to wax poetic about Chocolate Necessities, but I suspect you'd rather look at Pilipo's blip about it in March and a few choice photos I took today (click on the thumbnails).

I haven't been to Pure Bliss Desserts because I have an aversion to pink and prefer chocolate to cakes, tarts, or cookies, but I have heard good things about it. And in case you're wondering, I did go to the farmers' market this morning, but strictly as a shopper, finishing up my holiday shopping and purchasing delights such as more smoked cayenne peppers and this little gem.

(Apologies to anyone who read my first garbled version of this -- I hit "submit" too early. Not enough sleep last night...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.