The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

The Reasoning Christmas Party At The Globe

Back blipping like mad!

Friday was a whirlwind of emotion and time!

I don't even know to describe my last day at Clariant. It was business as normal for the first four hours. I put the gels on for the polymers. Tested them and did my paperwork and washing up, all the time, realising it was the very last time I was ever going to do it! And then after lunch, that was it. It was time for final goodbyes, and at 2pm nineteen years there came to an end, with little fuss, little palaver and no real emotional farewells. We all just got in our cars and went home, like we have done countless times over the years. We are all meeting up in the new year for piss up reunion meal, so there was not even any final day in the pub. At this busy time of year, people had places to be! I had to be at The Reasoning gig!

To be fair, if I was going to anywhere to celebrate my freedom redundancy, then an evening with The Reasoning would have been it.

It was a great concert. It was billed as their Christmas Party, so professional as they are, the evening was more about having a bit of fun. (As you can see from the unusual stage attire.

After running through a set list of songs old and very new, the band finished up with a medley of Christmas numbers. All I can say it, married life cannot possibly get better than serenading your wife with The Fairytale Of New York, on a stage, in front of a room full of relative strangers! It seems me and Dawn have a long way to go before we reach this level of married zen that Rachel and Matt show here!

It was a fantastic way to wrap up the end of a chapter of my life, and look forward to next years fresh challenges!

It also brought to the end the eclectic trilogy of bands we have seen in the past few weeks. From folk to thrash to prog in a month!

Another year of live music is over.

Fishbone
Roger Waters
Pendragon
Bellowhead
Devildriver
.. and The Reasoning, I thank you all for keeping me right royally entertained for 2011!

Woah! Spooky coincidence! The 12 month ago blip is about The Reasoning as well!

YouTube Clips added:

I believe In Father Christmas

Aching Hunger Sing-a-long

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.