All that is beautiful

By sharob

Christmas cards

Clara is writing her Christmas cards this morning .. She's doing different writing in each card and this, I thought, was the prettiest! This is the first year she's been able to completely write her own cards.

I have been having lots of dreams about arguing with my Mum lately. To say we've a rocky history would be an understatement. She wasn't the best parent, coupled with a transgendered dad wasn't the best start. Mum likes to paint herself the saint and whilst she herself may have been bullied by our dad, she did nothing to protect a children. Nothing. Then when she left, she still did nothing, but blame every problems she ever had on our dad. Still does now even 15 years later. Mr G isn't the most helpful around the house or with the children but considering that my parents were home full time and we never had much one on one attention, I think my girls are quite lucky. I only work 2 days a week and Mr G works full time. Some weeks he might only see them for 2 hours total. At the weekend, yes, he could do more but what he does is so much more than my parents did. Clara told me this morning that she prefers Daddy because he is nicer to her. I Facebook updated that and my Mum wrote 'would love to see Mr G at home all day, no, all week, see how much he does then!' so I wrote back a rather short 'wrll, I wouldn't swap with his jobs, working over and above full time, travelling around the country for unpaid after work engineer meetings ... ' she's yet to reply.

She just ruins everything, always put a dampened on everything. Sure, she's picked lots of presents for the girls, I sort of think she tries to buy their affections rather than actually take time out of her busy life to come see them. When she comes over she complains that Storm doesn't like her. My Mum is abrasive, opinionated (we all have opinions but it's about knowing when to bite your tongue - she doesn't) hard to get on with for anyone let alone small children.

Anyway, I hadn't intended this to be a rant. Mum has just annoyed me by her thoughtless comment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.