Today's Special

By Connections

Seasonal Colors

I had quite a list of things I wanted to accomplish today, as the cataract procedure on my right eye is tomorrow morning and I'm not sure how quickly I'll be back to somewhat normal vision.

Wanting to post a seasonal image and looking for one of those elusive (to me) quick blips, I first considered this possibility. (I made six dozen yesterday for a memorial service at church today).

Yes, it was a quick and easy photo to take this morning, and I liked the way the sugar crystals looked, but I wanted a deeper message for my blip today. Making salad for supper last night, I noticed that the last four radishes I'd bought at the farmers' market on December 3 still had lively leaves. That impressed me -- these local radishes, out of the ground more than two weeks, living at 40F/4C or lower in the dark of my refrigerator vegetable bin, still had enough life force to keep leaves alive.

The colors -- red, green, and white -- were seasonal, so I decided to go with one of the radishes. As always, it was a learning experience trying to do a still life. I won't say how many photos I took, but three stood out, with the Minimalist Radish and the Glitzy Radish in a tie for second place.

The winner, seen above, has both Minimalism and Glitz, but there are also Shadows. I leave the interpretation of all that to you.

Miscellaneous Notes
-- Thanks to all who wrote encouraging comments on yesterday's blip about finding the too-safely-hidden gifts; I did indeed find them, no doubt assisted by all that positive energy coming my way.
-- If you'd like to see another view of Lake Padden, the subject of my Dec. 8 blip, Phil posted a lovely sunset photo yesterday, taken from about the same area.
-- I am planning to keep blipping during the recovery period from the cataract procedure, but probably will not be commenting until my right eye recovers, as I don't want to overtax my left eye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.