Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Shafts Of Sunlight

I didn't think the sun was going to appear at dawn this morning as the day started grey, wet and windy. However, I went out with the camera to a spot nearer the sea than usual and as I did so the clouds parted slightly in the South East and the sky brightened.

Fortunately, the showers stayed off as the sun tried to break through the clouds in shafts of light that lit up the distant sea. For a few seconds the warm light was concentrated light a searchlight as a Sunbeam shone from the clouds. In no time it was gone and replaced by more shafts of sunlight.

A strong northerly wind was blowing and it was bitterly cold. After about 10 minutes I could barely feel my fingers and operating the camera became almost impossible. As the sun disappeared and the storm clouds gathered it was time to retire to a nice warm house.

As I type the wind is gale force and the rain is heavy. There is also a very high tide which has encroached into a corner of the garden. I will have to keep an eye on it as there is still an hour until high tide!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.