The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Line up

I had a meeting in Kendal this afternoon, so while walking in beside the river I kept an eye out for the elusive otter. No show.

So instead I spent a few minutes trying to get photos of the gulls lined up on the railings on the footbridge. You wonder why they bother because as soon as they are settled, someone comes along and disturbs them all. So a line-up of four was about the best I could do.

These are black-headed gulls, adults in winter plumage. The chocolatey head feathers of the breeding birds are replaced by the two shadowy bands. The black-heads are the most numerous gulls on the river, particularly at this time of the year, but there are occasional lesser black-backed and common gulls.

Another overcast and blustery cold day with showers.

My apologies to anyone reading this who commented on my 500th if I haven't thanked you individually. I just haven't had the time to get round everyone, so instead a big thankyou to you all.

ps Let's not forget Tuscany's perfect line-up shot

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.