That Will Do!

By flumgummery

Britannia

On my way back from a visit to the church I checked out the finished graffiti from Sunday. I haven't a clue what it means so I won't blip it but if anyone is passing Potterrow do have a look and see what you think. As I was so close I nipped into the museum for something else to blip.I'm not sure whether someone else has shown this but it was new to me.

It is a portrait by William Wissing and Jan Van der Vaart of Frances Teresa Stuart, who at the age of 15 and a renowned beauty was lady-in-waiting to Catherine de Braganza, wife of King Charles II. He became so infatuated with her that he insisted that her face was used as the model for Britannia on a commemorative medal; subsequently this has been used for all medals and on British coinage until decimalisation in 1971.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.