New College

In New College today for a meeting. Not much *new* about the place. It's pretty severe, with iron railings, statues of John Knox and towering buildings.

After lunch went for a quick coffee with a friend and diagnosed the failure of neo-liberalism and the absence of any obvious way forward. Perhaps the divines of New College can help us there. Not sure anyone else can. Then came back to the office and saw that the BBC had transposed what Angela Merkel had to say into an invitation to the UK to join the other 26 MSs on the road to fiscal union. Wrong. Wrong. Wrong. The UK is not about to join the Euro+ Pact. The only question is whether it insists on using a 'constitutional veto' for something that it already has a legislative veto - ie the so-called Tobin Tax. But Blip is not the place for me to moan about such things. Now I wished I'd taken a photo of another drain.

By the way, on a photographic note, I'm starting to like square crops. That's the second one I've done in a few days. And the green tinge was the price I had to pay for producing a photograph where at least some detail was discernible. Maybe I went too far with the drama function...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.