Love

After yesterday's cushion incident, it was reassuring to see Ben looking after Charley this morning.

I didn't write much in the evening because I was so tired and needed to go to bed so I ended up missing it off the journal - but the essence was this: I left Charley in his nest, awake but seemingly content, with Ben occupied watching cbeebies, and went to the loo. Charley starts crying, and Ben evidently tries to turn the volume down on Charley by burying him under a mountain of cushions. I heard the crying change and got downstairs very quickly and once Charley had been unearthed and checked to make sure he was ok (he just looked a little nonplussed which is his usual expression anyway) I had (fairly strong) words with Ben about never covering Charley's face because being able to breathe was pretty important.

This morning Charley is still poorly - he is bringing up bright yellow mucus when he regurgitates, and feels a bit hot as well. But, at least he is settleable which means Ben is getting some more cuddles.

I got Charley in his nest while I waited for the grocery delivery, and told Ben that Charley might be a bit cold because all the blankets were upstairs. Popped out to the kitchen and came back to find Ben had given Charley his teeshirt to keep him warm! He'd been really careful and only put it over his body and feet, and went over to give him a cuddle when I got back in. Then he said that Charley needed his trousers too and added them to the "blankets". I asked Ben if I could take a picture of Charley, and he came over and started cuddling and kissing him and said that Charley was his friend :-)

Mornings are O.K.

Another bonus for today is that dinner yesterday was very carb-light (thankyou Wray family!) so I'm able to have a portion for lunch today while feeding Charley, and don't think I need any insulin with it which is quite useful. I can dose up for pudding once (if) Charley is back in his nest! He is so snuffly today though it really sounds like he's purring...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.