Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Get Aff!

The morning started cold and cloudy with the sun nowhere to be seen. Overnight snow covered the hills of Arran, but the light was too poor to get a decent blip.

So its a change of subject today and a move to the bird feeder. Now this is a whole new ball game for me and I didn't appreciate quite how difficult it is. First problem was trying to get some light on the feeder. Had to move its position to where the brightening sky at least caught it. Then I had to try and stop it swinging about. The birds themselves were the hardest thing to nail down. The wee blighters kept jumping around and wouldn't stand still for a second. They were totally hyperactive and all over the place. Can only think someone is putting out food with too many E numbers!!

The birds were that hungry I could stand a few feet away and they would still come to the feeder. Only problem was I couldn't get a decent focus on zoom. Eventually had to stand about 4 metres away in the middle of a flower border using the camera hand held. Lots of shots taken but less than 10% were any good. I really do admire fellow blippers like Furnace Lass who take some marvellous shots of birds at feeders. It clearly takes a lot of patience and know how. Day one of it for me and I have learnt a lot.

Off all the shots this is the one I like most. I also wanted to blip the Blue Tits first as they were my mother's favourite bird (well after the Kingfisher!). One almost looks as if its telling the other to get off the feeder so it can have the nuts to itself. Although you can't see the second one's face I think the detail of the feathers on its back kind of makes up for it.

Have a good blip day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.