Bonanza

By heybeans

Oslo domkirke

I'm not a religious person. I'm more on the Christopher Hitchens side of the debate. I find organised religion abhorrent for the most part because it so often fails to practise what it preaches - as Gandhi said, "I like your Christ, I do not like your Christians. Your Christians are so unlike your Christ." Nonetheless, it was wonderful to walk past Oslo domkirke (Oslo Cathedral) and see a sign outside saying it was open from 4pm Friday to 6am Saturday every week so people could find "a quiet space in the city". I went in to find it nearly empty but with two young musicians playing secular instrumental music (piano and clarinet) and a remarkable sense of tranquility within. Of course, it's not open in such a fashion every day, and homeless people aren't allowed to sleep in there, but it still seemed a place of beauty and wonder and stillness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.